click analytics

Always grainy footage on old brevis!

Answers to common questions on the Brevis35

Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby jonny dieb on Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:49 pm

Hi there forum,

I have had the luck to get this brevis from a friend. First of all I don't know the revision of my brevis.
Unfortunately it has no micro collimation and no oscillations adjustment from the outside. And the power knob is kinda loose, it can be turned round the clock. Is this to be considered normal?
When adjusting oscillation speed, the motor sometimes turns up into a high buzzin noise with very little vibration. So far, I can see no reason for that (e.g. contacts or low battery).

BUT.... my main issue is the grain which is visible in all oscillation speed levels and under all camera/lens preconditions. Its like seeing film projected on a grainy wallpaper . I haven't seen this on any test footage of brevis and HVX200 on the web before. GG is (pretty) clean.

Equipment is:
HVX200,
Brevis (?? version)
72mm Cinevate Achromat
28mm Nikon Lens


Can anyone help?

Thanks a lot for your tips...
jonny dieb
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:45 pm


Re: Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby Jon Wolding on Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:44 pm

1. What is the F number of the lens(es) you're using?

2. Are you stopping down past F4 on your taking lens?

3. Are you using a shutter speed faster than 1/60?

4. Do you happen to know which Cinefuse you're using? (CF1, CF2, CF3, etc.)
User avatar
Jon Wolding
 
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:53 pm
Location: Tampa, FL


Re: Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby jonny dieb on Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:52 pm

Hi Jon,

1. Albinar 28mm @ 1:2.8

2. I tried several iris settings, i usually got less worse results on open iris or 1.4...2.8

3. I don't use any shutter.

4. Unfortunately I don't know much about the brevis itself. It seems to be an old version like rev.1 or rev.2, i'll post some pictures or a video to show the problem.

When I follow the instructions for grain reduction, I try to speed up oscillation (inside of the brevis), but then it suddenly changes to a high buzzin but almost no vibration. When I reduce speed till minimum it (sometimes) vibrates properly again but with heavy grain. Can it be a defect of the motor?
I'll post some footage, maybe this'll show...

Thanks for your help!
jonny dieb
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:45 pm


Re: Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby Jon Wolding on Thu Jun 18, 2009 9:51 pm

Hmm... you might have CF3 (very tricky to get a clean image, but the bokeh is worth the effort).

Can you upload some video examples?
User avatar
Jon Wolding
 
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:53 pm
Location: Tampa, FL


Test Footage

New postby jonny dieb on Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:04 am

I found a little time to go down and take some footage. Awfully shaky but it should show the problem.
I cannot focus on infinity (you'll see a garbage truck which i cannot get in focus) and there's always fog-like grainy film on the footage. I could possilby remove this in post somehow but I think it must be possible to handle on recording.

Maybe u got an idea.

Closeup http://www.vimeo.com/5231655
Trashcar http://www.vimeo.com/5231955
jonny dieb
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 4:45 pm


Re: Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby Jon Wolding on Fri Jun 19, 2009 10:57 pm

I suspect you have CF3 (maybe CF2). You'll need to purchase a CFXL or CF1Le.

To fix your infinity focus, check out Cinevate's Video University or the Customer Private Forum (you have to request access from Hubert or Dennis).
User avatar
Jon Wolding
 
Posts: 1655
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:53 pm
Location: Tampa, FL


Re: Always grainy footage on old brevis!

New postby Amos Kim on Mon Aug 03, 2009 5:16 am

hey jon, would the cf2le possibly solve the problem also?
Amos Kim
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 5:34 pm
Location: Los Angeles



Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest