click analytics

Canon Lens Will Not Mount

Answers to common questions on the Brevis35

Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby randyforte on Fri Dec 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Hi...

I just received my new Brevis35 system (very psyched!) with a Canon lens mount, however the first lens I tried to mount, a Canon 20mm F2.8 FD, would not mount and lock in place properly, any ideas why? Unfortunately, this is the only lens I've received so far, so I can't see if this is a consistent problem with all my lens...

Randy
randyforte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:29 pm


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby M Boerner on Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:32 am

what do you mean with properly? Is it slighly loose or doesn't it
mount at all?
M Boerner
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:53 am


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby randyforte on Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:28 am

It's loose. The lens will not lock in place. I guess until my other lens arrive I will not be able to solve the issue. The problem has to either be 1) there are different kinds of FD lens mounts (I'm not aware of that, but I'm not well versed in 35mm lens, 2) somethings wrong with the first lens I received, or 3) the Canon FD lens mount I received with my Brevis is incorrect, or defective.
randyforte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:29 pm


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby M Boerner on Sat Dec 06, 2008 10:24 am

What kind of FD mount is your lens? The older one is the breech lock with a silver locking
ring. The newer one is a bayonet style.
Here is a comparison:
http://canonfd.farah.cl/CanonFD_faql.html#mounts
Both lens mounts are compatible. The camera mount is the same.

The new bayonet style lenses can have some play on the brevis mount. They lock in place,
but you can twist them 1-2mm.
All my new style lenses are slightly loose on the brevis - but mount without problems on my canon cameras.
This was reported here on the forum previously, but there was no solution I'm aware of.
M Boerner
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:53 am


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby randyforte on Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:20 am

That you for that very helpful link... The lens I have is the newer FD bayonet mount, and it just wont mount, loose or other wise. I should receive some additional lens in the next day of so, I'll wait and see what happens with them before deciding my next step. Your post was extremely helpful, thank you so much.

Randy
randyforte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:29 pm


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby M Boerner on Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:30 pm

Another thing to consider is, that you can't mount the Lens when the f-stop ring is set to "A".
Check out this link:
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=145598
M Boerner
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:53 am


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby randyforte on Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:12 pm

You have found the issue with my lens! I can't thank you enough, that little headache I was feeling is going away.

Best regards.
Randy
randyforte
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:29 pm


Re: Canon Lens Will Not Mount

New postby M Boerner on Sat Dec 06, 2008 4:13 pm

good to hear - especially because it's not a cheap lens you have there!
M Boerner
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 5:53 am



Return to Frequently Asked Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest